News #5

Hi guys!!! It has been foreeever since I’ve logged in/looked at/posted on this blog. I definitely want to get back to reviewing music again. It’s a new year with new goals. Plus, my tastes in music has definitely changed a little, so it’d be interesting to see how that compares with my old interests. With being gone so long, I have gotten interested in a lot of new artists and lost interests in others.

Artists to Add:

Tsubaki Factory

File:Tsubaki Factory - Hatsukoi Sunrise promo.jpg

Since I added their sister group, kobushi factory, why not add Tsubaki as well? I admit, they don’t impress me as much as kobushi does. Kobushi just has better personalities, vocals, music, etc, but I admit that tsubaki has been improving a lot so they are worth giving a try at least!

File:Crayon Pop - Evolution Pop. 01 promo.jpg

Crayon Pop

I KNOW. What is a kpop group doing on this blog? The HORROR. I have been increasningly enjoying a lot of kpop girl groups lately, but even before this new craze, crayon pop has always been one of my favorite groups. They’re silly and a little quirky. Due to that, they don’t get a lt of attention and are often labeled “weird.” Despite this, I am a huge fan of theirs and think they should be added.

Image result for stellar kpop

Stellar

Another kpop group! Stellar is a small 4 unit girl group, and like Crayon Pop, they are seriously underrated. When their cute concept wasn’t working, they turned to a more mature style to gain attention. This came with extreme backlash from the public and now this group is kind of hated a bit. Despite Stellar’s mature themes, their music is actually very good. They have an interesting and unique sort of synthpop style.

Thinking About Adding

Predia: This group was requested, and I have taken a peek at their music. They all seem to have good vocals and I love that they embrace a more mature image instead of going for the typical youthful idol thing

Gfriend: This is a kpop group again. Although I’m not blown away by Gfriend’s music, their dances and concepts are always really cool

WJSN (Cosmic Girls): This large kpop group is very cutsey which I normally don’t go for, but they have a very “cosmic” or “spacey” quality to their music which I like

Not Reviewing Anymore

Dream5: They are disbanding soon and my interest over the years has gone down

Momoiro Clover Z: My interest with momoclo also dwindled down. I think them doing blackface was the last straw for me honestly…

Sakura Gakuin: Once all of my favorites graduated, I lost interest in this group which is such as shame. They were just a generic idol group, but their songs were so lively and the members had spirit

Shiritsu Ebisu Chuugaku: See Sakura Gakuin

Weather Girls: I really liked this taiwanese-japanese group but it seems that are not active anymore : (

 

 

One thought on “News #5

  1. Hey. Nice to see you back. I loved your C-ute reviews, maybe you can bring them up to date as 2016 was a great year for them for me.

    -Agree with your sentiments on Tsubaki Factory but after having thought they should just give it up not so long ago, they have really improved with the new members. UpFront seems to care about them again.
    -Crayon Pop I need to check out more – Although I really like everything Gfriend (Rough is a masterpiece IMO) and Twice have done, I do feel Kpop girlgroups are a bit inconsistent.
    -It’s a shame you feel that about Momoclo. I agree that some of the things they have done over time has been questionable. I loved Amaranthus the album (really gutted they didn’t release Gorilla Punch as a single because it was soo good), but I don’t think any of the single releases have been that inspiring and they don’t seem to have the same level of excitement as they did with Mouretsu, etc.

    Looking forward to your new reviews 🙂

Leave a Reply

