ANGERME: Nanakorobi Yaoki / Gashinsoutan / Mahoutsukai Sally

File:ANGERME - Nanakorobiyaoki lim C.jpg

Narakorobi Yaoki 5/5

When I first heard this song, I was blown away. This song is probably the group’s most epic, bad*** song to date. Everything about this song just screams “power.” The vocals are powerful and passionate, the instrumental is bursting with powerful sounds.  I love the repetition of the English translation of the song : Ups and Down, especially the end when they sing: “Life is full of ups and downs.” Even the MV is pretty epic! It’s dark tone matches the song well, and the choreography is smart. Overall, this is a pretty strong song for the group.

Gashin Shoutan 5/5

This is the more playful side of the single. Gashinshoutan is more upbeat and a little playful. It has a nice beat to it, keeping the song engaging the whole time. This songs reminds of a song kobushi factory might do because it has a lot of character to it, but ANGERME does quite well in this song on their own, especially with the vocals. The MV is a little weird because it seems dark and a weird contrast with the pastel color scheme, but the choreography is really fun and innovative.

Mahoutsukai Sally 3.5/5

This is a cover of a song, so you can’t really critique it too much. I’ve listened to the original and I think ANGERME does a really good job of making the song their own. I don’t hate this song, but It’s not something I would actively listen to. It’s like when MM did “Koko kara hajimaru” it was really cute and the song was catchy, but it lost its appeal not too shortly after. I guess I just don’t like anime tie-in songs??

 

After the masterpiece that was Taiki Bansei, I wondered what the group would release next. Nanaokrobiyaoki showed that the new members have great powerful vocals while Gashinshoutan was sillier and included more character. I think this was the perfect single to release after Taiki Bansei.

[On a side note, I hope to get back to reviewing music again! I haven’t been active on this blog, and since my taste’s have changed, I think its time to get back into it. hopefully I can still post often despite school and the busyness of life *sigh*]

 

 

Leave a Reply

