File:Saisai.jpg

Lingerie 5/5

Silent Siren starts off their first indie mini album with an upbeat pop-rock song! This song is really cute, particularly due to that cute instrumental song in the beginning of the verse. The “Please Call My name kiss me” part in semi-bad English is cute as well. I love this.

Koi Ai 5/5

This song is more laid back. The instrumental is still rock, but it’s more dreamy. I think the music and melody perfectly suits the songs theme of “love” I love Suu vocals in the verses, but she sounds a little strained in the chorus. I think this is a really sweet song.

Kimi wa tenki 4.5/5

How does Silent Siren match the mood of the song so perfectly?? This song makes me think of the beach and sunshine, which matches the title’s translation (You are good weather). I like the “yeah’s” in the chorus, the”Ii jan” after the chorus, as well as the repetition of “Motto” at the end. Overall, this is a really nice upbeat pop-rock song.

Chiranai Hana 5/5

This song is one of my favorites from Silent Siren! I love the beginning, how Suu sings in a low voice, which is totally different than her usual high vocals. Again, she sounds a little strained in the chorus to me. Though listening to this, the instrumental is staring to sound the same in all of the songs.

Sepia 5/5

We finally get a brake from all of the rock for a more mellow tune. Sepia is a quiet ballad, though the band still stays with it’s pop-rock roots. Sepia just has a really pleasing melody throughout; It’s very sweet and easy on the ears. One of my favorites as well.

Siren 4/5

Back to rock, Siren is sort of bland to me. It used to be my favorite from them, but I think the verses are a little boring. The chorus is really great. Siren isn’t bad at all, It just has nothing special in it to really make it great.

All right “Ima wo kakeru” 4.5/5

I love the instrumental in this. It reminds me of the songs in the first half of the album. Like Kimi wa tenki, it has a sweet, playful instrumental. I like the chorus, but like Siren, it seems to be lacking something. Also think they should have ended the album with something more mellow like Sepia.

 

I have followed Silent Siren since their debut. I’ve been meaning to review them for a long time! In the beginning I could not deal with Suu’s voice. It was too high and annoying. But once you get used to it, It’s actually pretty pleasant and cute. I think this is hands down one of the better indie debuts I’ve seen from groups. I mostly really like every song off of the album, though the songs were kind of similar.